Events

Notice of Public Hearings for Habitat Amendment

The highest peak of Cashes Ledge, Ammen Rock, rises to within 40 feet of the ocean surface and harbors the deepest and largest cold-water kelp forest on the Atlantic seaboard. Photo credit: Brian Skerry / New England Ocean Odyssey

“The New England Fishery Management Council (NEFMC) is conducting public hearings to solicit comments on Draft Omnibus Habitat Amendment 2 including the Draft Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS). The amendment will address habitat requirements for all NEFMC Fishery Management Plans. The hearings are being scheduled in accordance with the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act and will include opportunity for review and comment on the DEIS in accordance with the National Environmental Policy Act.”

There will be a total of 12 public hearings between November 24, 2014 and January 7, 2015. For the complete list of hearing dates and locations, click here.

  • Monday, November 24, 2014
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Portsmouth, NH
  • Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Plymouth, MA
  • Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Warwick, RI
  • Thursday, December 4, 2014
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Riverhead, NY
  • Friday, December 5, 2014
    6:00 pm- 8:00 pm, Cape May, NJ
  • Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    10:00 am – 11:45 am, Baltimore, MD
  • Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    6:00 pm -8:00 pm, New Bedford, MA
  • Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Gloucester, MA
  • Thursday, December 18, 2014
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Newport News, VA
  • Monday, January 5, 2015
    3:00 pm -5:00 pm, Webinar
  • Tuesday, January 6, 2014
    6:00 pm -8:00 pm, Brewer ME
  • Wednesday, January 7, 2015
    6:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Portland ME

Comments

Talking Fish reserves the right to remove any comment that contains personal attacks or inappropriate, offensive, or threatening language. For more information, see our comment policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *